[8th in 2015] Chasing waterfalls

Standard

17-18 October 2015

My second time in Cebu. Biglaan. And overnight. Yeah, I flew to Cebu and stayed for almost 48 hours. We’re supposed to go to Malapascua and Kalanggaman. But the waves didnt let us. So hours before our flight, my friend Joyce texted me and said we just might go to Moalboal para di na mag-bangka and Oslob (but maybe lang to) for Butanding watching. I was excited for the Butanding watching sana. Then Joyce sent me a text again, sending a link. But didnt read coz busy nako mag-pack. Forgot to inform me na we’re no longer going to the beach, we’re chasing waterfalls instead.

I’m not a fan of waterfalls. I’ve been to 4 waterfalls (Mambukal and Mag-aso Falls in Negros Occidental, Diguisit Falls in Baler, and Daranak Falls in Tanay) before this. Now in just one weekend, 6 na ang falls napuntahan ko. We went to Kawasan Falls in Badian and Aguinib Falls in Samboan.

Rode a bus from Cebu South Bus Terminal (Ceres bus/aircon), P130 and its a 3 hour bus ride. So we slept the whole time. Got off Brgy. Lambug and rode a trike to Cebu International Golf & Resort (P30/head). We stayed at a 2 bedroom with ac and 2 single beds, pillow, blanket, cabinet, 2 large bath with towel, kitchen with fridge na sobrang bagal lumamig ng drinks, cups, drinking glass, saucer and teaspoon), living room and veranda (beach front) for 6k. Not bad.

We're 5. Rolan's at the back of the driver. (P30/head)

We’re 5. Rolan’s at the back of the driver. (P30/head)

After putting our bags down and and mag-swimsuit, nag-trike ulet kame to Kawasan Falls. Ate lunch at the carinderia, I had fried porkchop, rice and coke mismo for P50 plus free sabaw. For the win! And bought 2 500ml bottled water for P30.

Mahirap orasan yun trek coz patigil tigil kame for pics and some dip in the fresh cold water. Brrrr

I’m not prepared for this trek coz like I said, I packed for a beach trip. So super takot ako maglakad at baka madulas ako coz I’m only wearing a flip flop. Ha! It was all good though. I had fun! I even sat on an edge for a pic. It was scary and liberating.

To Kawasan Falls.

To Kawasan Falls.

DCIM102GOPROGOPR6562. IMG_0851

Didn't look scared eh? Thanks Seph for letting me use your gopro as I'm too tamad to use mine.

Didn’t look scared eh? Thanks Seph for letting me use your gopro as I’m too tamad to use mine.

IMG_1001[1]

First waterfall. Wanted to swim kaso di ako marunong lumangoy, it looked malalim plus too many people.

Inakyat namin hanggang sa last waterfall, but didnt take a photo na coz I’m too wet and too tamad ilabas ang gopro. The first one is the biggest waterfall though. Bumaba kame around 4pm na rin. Binaba kame saglit at La Playa for sunset.

Sunset

Sunset

And then, bumaba sa market to buy food, drink, ice.

Madilim na pagdating namin ng Resort. And we ate dinner kaagad. Bought lechon manok (coz we’re too hungry and cant wait if magpapaluto pa) and puso. Ligpit, shower, kwentuhan. And then inuman.

Around 12 bagsak na ang lahat and called it a night.

Plan is to leave ng 6am for the waterfall (not sure saan dapat) para makabalik maaga. Kaso nagising kame ni Joyce ng 7am. Nagbihis kame, and sana mag-beach na lang but the waves and winds are too strong.

IMG_0973So sa falls na lang daw. Hahaha nag-ready na kame for check out. And nagpasundo sa trike at naghintay ng bus. 1 hour din going to Samboan. Dumating kame bandang 10:30. At first ayoko na sana umakyat coz masaket na ulo ko and dahil takot nako. Hahaha Pero ayoko maging KJ, so iniwan namin gamit namin (P20/bag or person), unlike sa Kawasan Falls ang Aguinid Falls, merong mga guide and instructions. Which scared me lalo kase baket meron pang guide. Hahaha there are 6 levels (Level 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5). Our guide, Mak the best! He took care of us. Super alalay, picture and bitbit sa gamit namin.
Di nakakapagod coz tuloy tuloy lang akyat sa falls. One that scared me sobra was Level 3. Where we had to climb as in para kang nag wall climbing. Parang ang tarik kase plus ang lakas nung water. But madali naman sya coz meron mga mahahawakan at aapakan. Even pababa, may guides na.. well guiding us. Hahaha

Our guide Makmak

Our guide Makmak

Pag akyat sa Level 5, sya na pinakamalaking falls. And guides said, water is clean and we can drink it. Kaso I forgot na to try and taste the water.

Level 3

Level 3

Groupie at Level 5

Groupie at Level 5

I think this is Level 4, where its ok to jump coz may slight pool sila that is 6 ft deep.

I think this is Level 4, where its ok to jump coz may slight pool sila that is 6 ft deep.

We were running late coz we need to be in the City at 6 coz Ace has 8ish flight back to Manila.

Our guides took us to this store near the basketball court, pwede paluto ng food and use ng banyo for 10 bucks per head. Syempre, ok samin. We ordered adobo, tinolang manok. May dumaan nang bus after few mins namin matapos kumain. Dumaan na yun aircon and di namin naabutan. So ok na yun ordinary since we really need to get back in Cebu City.

Bus ride was 5 hours. Asked the kundoktor if may stop over coz I need to pee. Hahahaa so there was one.

Nakarating kame ng South Bus Terminal almost 7. Took a cab going to Parkmall to have dinner. Had lechon belly and puso and coke! Gutom na gutom lang coz I had 4 puso’s. Hahahaha

Then coffee at Bo’s while waiting sa oras na pagpunta ng airport.

10ish, we left Parkmall and headed to the airport. All our flights were delayed because of the typhoon (Lando) in Luzon. Our supposed to be flight was 12:40 became 1:50am. Slept the whole plane ride. There were turbulence. Scary ones and lightning. Landed at past 3. Got home around 5am.

Trip was tiring, but I had a great time chasing waterfalls.

Leave a comment